RSS Feed

Fiction Challenge: Hunter of Hunters

For my first post, I’m going to participate in my first writing challenge. Woot! I hope to do many of these things from various people and places, but I have to start somewhere. This is for Chuck Wendig’s flash fiction challenge.

Let me know what you think! 🙂

Hunter of Hunters

I flicked the lighter open and watched the flame dance in the wind. Above me, clouds drifted across the sky, obscuring the full moon, throwing shadows against the brick walls around me. I lit the cigarette in my mouth and breathed deep. Ah, menthol. At least the Bloodsucker had good taste in cigarettes. I tossed the still open lighter into the barrel just as the wind picked up again, carrying the gas fumes away. In the next second the gas had turned the cold body inside into a glowing beacon, begging for someone to glance out their window. I didn’t bother to hide this one; I just threw him in the first thing I could find, and it just happened to be on the roof of the shortest apartment building on the block. The heat from the fire felt nice in the cold wind, and I leaned closer and stretched my hands towards the flames.

I took another hit off the cigarette. Good thing I checked his pockets before I stuffed him in there. It would have been a shame to burn an unopened pack. I patted my jacket pocket, my badge thumping against the confiscated box. My search didn’t turn up a wallet though. I flicked the cigarette and exhaled the smoke into the wind. I didn’t need identification to know what he was; I could find a needle in a haystack. Or in this case, a vampire tailgating at a Saints game.

I wasn’t looking for him specifically, but when he knocked into me on his way into the game I just couldn’t let him go. These things can’t be allowed to roam freely. Besides, it was fun. This one gave me a good chase before I got my hands on him, but he fell just like the others. Just like they all will.

Stake ‘em and bake ‘em, they say. But don’t forget to drain ‘em.

I took another hit and closed my eyes. I looked for any new sensations, any open doors in my abilities that were closed an hour ago. I felt nothing. He must have been barren.

Pathetic.

The flames raged on, the heat intensifying, but I didn’t back away. Warmth was a rarity for me, and my cold skin relished every minute of it. I thought about my next target, the one I was looking for before I stumbled upon this idiot. The old man was proving to be a difficult hunt, but he can’t hide from me forever. I will find him before one of the others, because I want his abilities. I need his abilities if I’m going to secure my spot in the agency. And who wouldn’t want to lead the Vampire Eradication Agency? And see the future? I want both, and my path to the top runs right through that damned monk.

He’s old. No, he’s ancient. But he’s fast. And he can see me coming from a mile away. I have almost busted the agency’s cover a hundred times trying to get my hands around his neck, and I’ll risk it another hundred times. What are they going to do, fire me? Actually, the contract specifically said “terminate.” But, they can’t kill what they can’t catch.

Sirens. Damn. Much faster than the last few times. Maybe they’re catching on. Or maybe they don’t want a whole block to burn down. Whatever the case, it’s time to go.

I took a final drag off the cigarette before tossing it into the fire. There wouldn’t be anything left to pull DNA off that body, let alone the stub of cigarette. And if there was, they’d hit a wall of classified content so tough that every city official would have to resign if they even thought about ramming their investigative cars through. Besides, there’s nothing to find; the V.E.A. doesn’t exist, at least not on paper. Investigate away, Coppers, you won’t find anything.

But I am here. I am real. My name is Moses and I’m here to protect the ignorant from the dangers next door. But right now, it’s time to disappear.

One response »

  1. The tone of this is really great – nice piece!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

